Sharon Harris Annual Book Award

UCHI is pleased to announce the Sharon Harris Annual Book Award


Award: $2000 in research account funds

For a monograph published by UConn Tenure, Tenure-Track, Emeritus, or In-Residence faculty that best demonstrates scholarly depth and intellectual acuity and highlights the importance of humanities scholarship.

Book must have been published between January 2016- January 2019. E-publications, artist-authored books, digital humanities projects, and collaborative texts (where all authors are UConn faculty) will be accepted for review.

The award committee will not consider exhibition catalogues, translations, collected essays, textbooks, or revised editions.


1. Cover letter (no more than 2 pages) by author of book explaining the value of the book to humanities scholarship

2. PDF of book AND hard copy (supplied by author)

3. One external letter of support (sent directly to UCHI)

4. Reviews, if available (supplied by author)

All materials must be received by: Jan. 16, 2019

Send all e-materials (cover letter, PDF of book, support letter and reviews) to:

Send hardcover book to: UCHI, U-1234

Questions? Email:



Awards 2019

The winners of the Sharon Harris Book Award is Daniel Hershenzon for his 2018 book, The Captive Sea: Slavery, Communication, and Commerce in Early Modern Spain and the Mediterranean and Helen M. Rozwadowski for her 2018 book, Vast Expanses: A History of the Oceans.

Awards 2018

The winner of the Sharon Harris Book Award is Professor Anne C. Dailey for her 2017 book, Law and the Unconscious: A Psychoanalytic Perspective.


Awards 2017

The winner of the inaugural Sharon Harris Book Award is Associate Professor Micki McElya for her 2016 book, The Politics of Mourning: Death and Honor in Arlington National Cemetery.