Month: April 2015

The University of Connecticut Humanities Institute is pleased to announce its UCONN Faculty Fellowship awards for 2015-16:

UConn Faculty Fellowships  

César Abadía-Barrero – “Health Ruins: From Post-Colonial to Post Neoliberal ‘Medical Care’ in Columbia”

Susan Einbinder – “Eleh Ezkerah:  Trauma and Medieval Jewish Literature”

Diane Lillo-Martin – “Sign Language Acquisition:  Archiving and Sharing”

Natalie Munro – “A 30,000 year history of human foraging and farming in the Aegean:  the view from Franchthi Cave, Greece”

Brad Simpson – “The First Right: Self Determination and the Transformation of International Politics”

Peter Zarrow – “The Utopian Impulse in Modern Chinese Political Thought, 1890-1940”

Our Associate Director Brendan Kane and Tom Scheinfeldt recipients of the 2015 Research Excellence Program (REP) awards.

REP Awards

The Office of the Vice President for Research is very pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 Research Excellence Program (REP) awards. The primary goal of the REP is to provide seed funding to promote, support, and enhance the research, scholarship, and creative endeavors of faculty at UConn, including (but not limited to) the strategic and emerging areas delineated in the Academic Plan and national and global priorities.

Brendan Kane, PI, History
Tom Scheinfeldt, Co-PI, Digital Media and Design
Reading Early Modern Irish: A Digital G0uide to Irish Gaelic (c. 1200-1650)